• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Questions for IUOE local 150 members

Heavywrenching

Hey guys, I have read threads on this forum for a long time but just recently joined. Here’s a little background on me and why I’m making this, most likely long, post. I’m a heavy equipment mechanic for a dealership in the Chicagoland area. My shop is IAMAW local 701 (primarily an automotive union). The Chicago IUOE local 150 is currently taking application and I’m thinking of applying. Everyone I talk to say local 150 is where the money is at for anything involving equipment. My current shop’s pay scale is decent, but from what I can find it is 5$ - 10$ below the local 150 scale. The unions also provide insurance. Our 701 insurance is enough for one person, but once you get a family on the insurance with you it gets expensive. Local 150 has double the amount monthly for insurance. The last factor is pension, the local 150 has a great pension and the 701’s is a total joke. I’m a year and a half into my 701 apprenticeship but it seems like the Local 150 is better in every way and I don’t want to wait until it’s to late or I’m too invested into the 701 to start over. I guess what I’m looking for is any Local 150 mechanics or operators on here that have done the apprenticeship and can give me some insight on what I could expect. Any IUOE from other locals are welcome to chime in also. I’ve never worked anywhere but dealerships, but I want to get myself into a position that is going to be the best for myself and my wife in the long run. Thanks guys!

old-iron-habit

Occupation
Retired Cons't. Supt./Hospitals