• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

How is equipment usually serviced?

Max Dee

I am a sales professional for a software development company and I am currently conducting research about the industry to see how most heavy construction machinery is serviced?

From what I can currently understand, the heavy machinery is usually taken to a dealership to get serviced or repaired, or a repair technician from the OEM company is sent to the site to repair/ service any non-working equipment. Is this correct?

Is there any other way the heavy machinery is serviced (e.g. is it sometimes shipped/ or components of it shipped to the OEM for them to service it at their facility)? Does the end customer (construction/ contractor company) ever has to fix machinery on their own (if that's the case do they hire, their own repair technicians)?

From your experience which type of method is most frequently used in servicing heavy machinery?

Thanks for any feedback provided, I really appreciate it, since I would like to learn in more detail how the heavy machinery industry works.

treemuncher

Occupation
eatin' trees, poopin' chips
If I can not repair it or maintain it myself, I don't own it. I service in the field or at the shop depending on severity of the problem or need of maintenance. I don't drag a machine home just to change the oil or basic filters - that would be inefficient.
I do bring it home for a full pressure washing prior to hydraulic servicing, if possible. Hydraulics must be kept clean to be done right. Spilled oils need to be cleaned off/out prior to putting machines back to work.