• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Worst backhoes

TROP

Looking to get a used backhoe. Which brand/make should I avoid. Any help on this issue would be great.

edgephoto

I am far from an expert but I can tell you I am glad I bought a Cat. Parts are pretty readily available at my local dealer. If they don't have it in stock it is only a day or two away. I have only found stuff like body parts are no longer available from the dealer. I have ordered stuff like hydraulic pipes, heater valve linkage, clips, latches for doors, etc. My machine is a 426 built around 1989.

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
Welcome to the Forums TROP!

What do you want to do with the machine?

For backhoes one brand to steer clear of - TEREX.

T-town

Occupation
retired !
The deere and case hoes have a certain series ( year) where..... after that point, major components of the drivetrain were able to be serviced without "splitting the tractor". ( JD 310 "b" vs a "C" ) ( think I have that correct;))
I would research that as a beginning point. Not sure about the other brands with regard to that point.
Any thing will need service at some point...... and with a used unit that could come sooner rather than later. The older the deere, the more difficult to source parts is what I have found/heard. Not so with Case.... from what I've seen ( no 1st hand there).
The best advise is to operate the machine.... you need to see it at operating temps.. and need to get an idea of how tight ( or not) all those pins/bushings are. This might mean you need to take some 'advisor' along for the look see.