• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Up in Flames

Smokin Joe67

I thought you guys might find this interesting. 2005 Yanmar CBL 40 backhoe with 700hr parked 3 days in one spot and on the 4th day while out of town (of course) the machine caught fire. I've been doing this for 35 years and have never ever had a machine just catch fire. We did no electric work to it and can't see how anyone could torch this in a locked gate at 6 am. Just strange.
DSCF8265.JPGDSCF8378.JPGDSCF8264.JPGDSCF8377.JPG

92U 3406

Occupation
Wrench Bender
I remember reading an incident report a couple years ago from one of the mines about a D9 or D10 that burnt up while parked in an empty pit. They determined that it was struck by lightning and caught fire. Seems a bit far-fetched but that was what they ruled as the cause.

Smokin Joe67

I asked the same thing but there were no storms that night. Now what i do is park all my older units in one spot close together so if one goes they all go.

alrman

Occupation
Diesel Fitter;Small Business Owner;Cleaner
I have seen something similar occur.
An operator washed his backhoe in the morning & parked it in a shed. I was working alone in the same shed all that day, during the afternoon I came out from under a machine to see the roof of the shed filled with smoke.
The smoke was coming from the washed backhoe. I disconnected the battery, & put the fire out. The +ve battery cable had shorted out where it runs over the engine bellhousing.
This shed had another 6 machines & about 6 trucks parked in it. If I wasn't there, the whole lot probably would have gone up in smoke.