• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Tampering with hour meter

bdog1234

I recently bought a used skid steer from a dealer who reported it to have very low hours (less than 400) as shown on the hour meter. I will admit I am a not an expert on these machines and took his word for it. It was sold as is with no warranty. I bought it and put less than 50 hours on it and engine gave out. Mechanic looked and said the engine had been torn into before and that there is no way it had that low of hours judging by the wear on the engine and other parts of the machine. Do I have any recourse?

robin yates uk

I recently bought a used skid steer from a dealer who reported it to have very low hours (less than 400) as shown on the hour meter. I will admit I am a not an expert on these machines and took his word for it. It was sold as is with no warranty. I bought it and put less than 50 hours on it and engine gave out. Mechanic looked and said the engine had been torn into before and that there is no way it had that low of hours judging by the wear on the engine and other parts of the machine. Do I have any recourse?
In the UK if you buy something secondhand with no warranty, you buy as seen. Buyer beware!

bdog1234

I get that about buying used that for the most part it is sold as is but isn't unlawful to misrepresent something? The dealers ad for the machine read something like " Great low hour machine - only 385 hours".

robin yates uk