• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Repairability of older models

seagull369

Hey everyone. Total noob here in the market for a backhoe/loader for just around the property here. Based on what I can afford, looks like a 1970ish model that might require work will probably be in my future.

Given that, I was wondering how available parts in this era would be. I imagine the answer to that might be largely based on the manufacturer/model in question, but I'm not sure.

I'm pretty handy and have done my share of 'creative fixes' when parts just haven't been available, but I also realize that sometimes only an identical-type replacement will do so that's what makes me ask.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

NJfarmer

Occupation
Elec. Tech
Older Units

Seagull,
I have a 1973 Case 580B and have not had any problems getting parts for this backhoe. You will find older backhoes due require a lot of TLC to keep them running. I would stay with the more popular brands Case, Cat, JD etc. They seem to have a good network of dealers and repair staff. Good luck with your purchase.

NJ Farmer

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Agreed, if your looking at early 70's :eek:, I'd stay with Case or Deere. Problem would be finding one of this vintage that ain't slap wore out. There out there...you just gotta find it.

seagull369

Thanks, NJ and Atco-. I'll keep an eye out for those brands. Can anyone add to that list? I'm not all that familiar with the ones out there.

Last edited:

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager