• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Question on AWD trucks.

zrtman

I am looking at buying a t/a or tri/axle dump. It will be my first dump, so I am new to this. Really leaning towards a awd/6x6 truck (front driven axle). I do site work - all the trucks always get stuck and we are forever pulling them out. I have found some cab/chassis - IH paystar 5000, Autocar, and Pete's that are the AWD. Anybody out there think I'm crazy? Never seen an AWD truck around here. Is there a reason for it?

Also - most trucks have the 8LL trans. Cummings L10 or Cat (3306 mostly). Any opinions on these? Whats better or worse...

Thanks!

CT18fireman

Occupation
Owner
You are adding a lot of weight to get a heavy steering, drive axle. That reduces total load. I also think cost is a big reason you don't see a lot of them. On a smaller one ton, type truck, these issues are smaller then in bigger type trucks.

Dwan Hall

Occupation
Self Employed
I have an all wheel drive F600 converted from a 5ton mill truck. Only thing I have found is when contractors know you have they think you should be able to dump your load on top of any mountain in the area. They try to send you in areas ware a hover craft don't belong. They just get you in deeper so you need a bigger piece of equipment to get you out. They are great for hauling snow on ice covered roads.

zrtman