• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Prepping a house site and building a house

Columbo

Many of you have helped with my threads on the excavator I purchased to clear a house lot and do the site work. My background is in carpentry so the heavy equipment and dirt work side is new to me. I’d like to use this thread to document the progress on the dirt work part of this project and pick up more advice or tips from the pros. I like to avoid doing things the hard way if possible!! (I wasn’t sure where to put this thread but this seemed like the best fit).

My wife and I started this project (slowly) 2 years ago by clearing a driveway access towards the lot which is a mix of wooded and open. The driveway and house site area is moderately sloping and like many lots in the area it can get pretty wet.
1682806064891.jpeg

1682806315048.jpeg

Last year the project continued with the driveway extended to the building site, power poles were installed by the electric company and underground electric service was run to the meter location. The house design doesn’t permit a meter mounted on the house and the remote meter will serve for temporary construction power too. Fortunately the house will go in an existing field so the only clearing I had to do was for the driveway.

1682806437432.jpeg
1682806477396.jpeg

Columbo

First up this year is stripping the top soil off the construction area and stockpiling it nearby. The site plan calls for the uphill slope to be dropped by 4ft for the back yard area. I plan on moving the subsoil to the low side of the foundation for fill. More to come!

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation