• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

PC120-6 - oil in the bell housing?

02Dmax

Just had a customer call asking how much oil should be in his bell housing. I kinda laughed and said none but he didn't laugh. He has a kid working for him that said it's supposed to be up to the check plug on the side.

I'm not an excavator expert but I've never worked on one that's SUPPOSED to have oil in there. Is there such a thing or is his rear main leaking like I assumed?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

02Dmax

Ya that does look like a bearing in that diagram.

I guess my next question is it fed by engine oil or should there just be gear oil in there?

Honestly I've never seen such a setup.

lantraxco

Dunno... probably have to get ahold of an owners manual or service manual... or break down and call a Kommie dealer if nobody on here knows :confused:

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
It is called a damper case and if you look under the pump and the damper case you will see a hex head that is an O ring plug. That is the level plug. There is a drain plug on the bottom of the bell housing. The thing only take a little over a pint to fill it to the level plug. It take 30 wt. engine oil.

Now the problems come up when people fill the bell housing all the way up to the cap on top or the rear main seal on the engine can leak or the front seal on the hydraulic pump. It can create enough heat to burn the paint off the bell housing. It also burns out out the speed sensor which presents other performance problems for the excavator.