• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New to sight, bought an 1816br1 looking for mechanical advice.

alonzo83

First hello,

My name is Alonzo I am from South East Mo. I work as a machinist/fabricator for the local ag and marine industry.
I recently came across an old case 1816b skid steer and bought it for 1,500. I figure it is an outstanding upgrade from a shovel and wheel barrow.

It does run but the old tecumseh is blowing a lot of oil.

I was wondering if anyone has upgraded to new motors and if so what kind of problems did you run into?
I found this upgrade kit, Has anyone tried it? Or am I better off sticking with a 20hp Honda and building my own adapter kit?
http://www.smallenginewarehouse.com/356447-Case1816B-R1.html

On this particular machine the pumps are engaged via pulley tension, it wants to walk when it is disengaged. I am seriously thinking about replacing the system with a 12v clutch while I am replacing the motor. Is this a bad idea, or a smart move?

I am also looking at putting on an additional electric over hydraulic system that can power up a post hole digger, small tiller, snow blower ect. If any of you have recommendations on pump/motor sizing I would be grateful.

Thank you for reading,

Alonzo

Steve Frazier

Founder
Staff member
Welcome to HEF!

The Briggs Vanguard is an excellent engine, I've got two I used in my business and never had problems with them. The two cylinder Hondas have a bit of a reputation of problems, but you can't beat their single cylinders.