1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

new ride

Discussion in 'Cranes' started by Tradesman, Apr 28, 2013.

  1. ebenzfem

    ebenzfem New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Hello everyone,
    Please i need anyone to assist me with the access code to PAT Iflex5 LMI, The code is required to help me complete a job on a RT890E grove crane. The pressure transducer requires me to zero both the piston and rod transducer and hence require an access code.
    I will appreciate any assistance to help me sort this problem.
     
  2. bigshow

    bigshow Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    How about a link to the load cells? I just picked up a crane for myself and have been thinking about adding some safety features.
     
  3. Knepptune

    Knepptune Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Indiana
    Sorry about wrecking your thread tradesman.

    Anyway I buy our wireless systems from cranewarningsystems.net. Talk to randy.
     
  4. bigshow

    bigshow Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Sorry as well, thanks Knepptune.
     
  5. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    Not to worry, just glad to have some crane talk happening :)
     
  6. classictruckman

    classictruckman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Tree Climber/339A Crane Operator
    Location:
    Ottawa Valley Ontario, Canada

    We've been using these for about 5-6 years now with the sling hooks too:

    http://cantow.ca/proditem_detail.ph...'_Yellow_Round_Sling&product_query=ww2w14w175

    When "spider legging" you can adjust them by wrapping the one you want short by wrapping it around the limb multiple times or moving it up or down the limb, the key to having lifts come off smooth is to have the hook right over the center of gravity of the lift and have the slings tight.

    You should look at picking up a book from the TCIA(Tree Care Industry Association) Crane Best Management Practices, I costs about $100, but it's a real good read.

    If you havent already you should look at joining the forum www.treebuzz.com/forum/.

    Good luck with the new boom, manitex is a good brand.
     
  7. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    Wow I am getting my boom truck ready for what looks like a busy year ahead " I hope so " I took it to my crane shop and very Bravely said give her what she needs ,
    they did a NDT. perfect the tec. said its in very good shape,
    The input shaft has been dripping ( it's a verible displacement piston pump ) $ 4,700 plus labour to R & R and its rebuilt,
    Plus the pto shaft that caused the trouble, before I bought it it had been repaired and never balanced
    Full function test
    Installed a ball valve on the hydraulic suction line ( I removed the handle drilled the top and zip tyed it open )
    After all that the first job I was on the boom up was either off or full nuts took it back and it needs the boom control modual replaced for around $1,200 ,
    I always thought it was a little touchy but I blamed myself for not having that perfect touch, but I guess after the pump was rebuilt the extra flow exasperated the condition and made it clear to me something had to be done. I get it home on Tuesday and I am really looking forward to my nearly new ride and I spending some quality time together.
    The machine is a 2006 I guess the controllers have a life span I did the hoist controler last fall, it failed and wouldn't work at all. Over all I have been very happy with my new ride this is the first real money I've spent on it in three seasons
    Cheers
    Tradesman
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
  8. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    Got an urgent call today from a regular customer today he built this " tall wall" and couldn't stand it with his zoom boom not much wonder I never measured it but it has to be close to forty feet tall and was over 5 thousand pounds. I really enjoy these problem picks they make you use your head.
    Tradesman
    FullSizeRender.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  9. Tugger

    Tugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Hi Tradesman

    Ive enjoyed seeing your operations on here.Ive always had conventional cranes,but Ive finally picked up a Manitex2592 swing cab rear mounted on a Ford Louisville.Im just going through the licencing process with Icbc,im in British Columbia.Lots of these units out here ,but with our insurance outfit you would think this was the first one on earth.Have you ever considered pull any kind of a trailer behind yours?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    I don't have an "A" licence. I had a small float for my old crane that I snuck around with a bit "pretty handy" But I dropped a fare load on this outfit, pounding up and down the road with it just didn't seem like something I wanted to do. Now every time she see's day light some body owes me $120 an hour for a 3 hour minimum.
    I have insurance with C0-Operators, the truck is under auto Insurance and the crane is under Commercial Liability Not too bad.
    Truck licence is around $ 1,600 a year up from around $800 a couple years ago they're really sticking it to trucks in Ontario, they may get there wish and all business will move to Mexico and all that is left here will be civil servants, won't the world be perfect then:D
     
    mikebramel likes this.
  11. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    By the way good looking rig you will enjoy the sitty down thing, the only down side I've found is your out of the loop, your in the cab by yourself and its not usually practical to get out and have a chat with any-one like on a neck breaker you just hop off, help the riggers then hop back on when there ready. But I will never go back to a neck breaker.
    Regards
     
  12. classictruckman

    classictruckman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Tree Climber/339A Crane Operator
    Location:
    Ottawa Valley Ontario, Canada
    tradesman, with your swingcab you can get away with not plating it. if you have no payload(nothing on the deck other than necessary rigging also no towing) then you can classify it as a crane which in Ontario means its an off-road vehicle, doesn't need plates, annual safety, emission check, and you can burn coloured diesel in it which you don't pay road taxes on. Huge money savings over all.
     
  13. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    How big of a process is it and where do you start : local licence office or do you start with the ministry of transport ?
    Thanks
     
  14. classictruckman

    classictruckman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Tree Climber/339A Crane Operator
    Location:
    Ottawa Valley Ontario, Canada
    I'm not really sure about the process, when cropac built our 22 ton they said it didn't need plates and it came back without any. I'd call them(IIRC you bought your machine from them), they import a lot of cranes every year into lots of places in Canada so I'm sure they know the process.
     
  15. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    image.jpg
    I had a bad error in judgement this week I trusted untested riggers ( a truck driver and a Mennonite farmer ) I was lifting a 5 ton hopper bin into place, I rigged it with four 2" double nylon slings 16' long witch gave me well over 60deg. They where shackled on lifting lugs at the tank and shackled into a 1" grade 100 ring at my hook. Looked like a good set up, I lifted a couple feet off the ground and stopped asked the ground crew if the rigging was fouled they said it was ok. The lift went perfect, I was in good shape for when the tank stood up on its own and followed it keeping tension on, ( the best I've ever done ) then pop one of the slings broke it had been fouled around the vent hood. Lesson learned never trust untrained riggers, my fault totally won't make the same mistake again.
    We re rigged with a new sling and finished the lift. The picture is after it was set of course the gentleman de rigging is tied off:rolleyes:
     
  16. td25c

    td25c Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,251
    Location:
    indiana
    Nice work Tradesman . Don't get to hung up over the mishap . That will happen at times .

    I provide & do all rigging on my jobs . Damn ...... At my age I get wore down on some jobs crawling in and out of the cab to rig a load . It's good exorcise I reckon . LOL !

    Sometimes before a lift I will hop off the rig & walk around looking things over . Customer yell's " hey td , what's wrong "? Nothing wrong , just looking for something wrong . LOL !
     
  17. dbl612

    dbl612 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    crane operator
    Location:
    torrington, ct.
    its always a good plan to get out and eyeball rigging you can't see even with riggers you trust. everybody sees different things and different outcomes.
     
  18. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    Lesson learned, and I got off easy.
     
  19. td25c

    td25c Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,251
    Location:
    indiana
    Well said dbl612 . Hop out & do a "walk around " . From the cribbing to the hook .
     
  20. Tradesman

    Tradesman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Contractor
    Location:
    Ontario
    I spent a good chunk of last Saturday going over my my boom truck, and I found a wet spot on the bottom of my hydraulic cooler rad , so I tore it apart and it was packed full of salt and sand " nasty" I put a pressure test on it and sure enough the hole bottom of it was badly pitted and one corner was leaking. with great hopes I took it to a repair shop, no luck they said it was too far gone. I called my dealer they got a price from Elliott YIKES!! $2,250.00 and i re-use my own thermostat and fan. I talked to the service manager and he said with a crane my size, unless i was doing heavy duty cycle work i really didn't need it. Today i checked the tank temperature several times it never got above 40 C ( sorry i didn't check it in F ) . I think i'll take some time and find an after market cooler, I really want to keep everything working on it.I have done some checking and have seen quite a few around $600.00 with the same specs as my old one. does any-one have any words of wisdom or caution.
    Thanks
    Tradesman