• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Leaking Hydraulic Coupler

Grit

I noticed a drop of oil coming out the front of one of the hydraulic couplers. It is the bigger one on the bottom. When I first got the machine, I had noticed build up around the end of the hydraulic arm that attaches to the bucket. I assumed the seal around it was leaking, but after discovering the hydro oil leaking out of the coupler, I figure it is dripping down onto the hose (shown in pic) and ending up around the front face of the hydraulic arm (also shown in pic). You'll have to forgive me for not know what these parts are called. I am still learning. I have provided pics for reference.

My question is, can I replace the coupler without much trouble? And if so, how do I depressurize the system in order to get this done? I don't want to lose tons of fluid trying to do this. It looks like there's just a lock nut on the back side and it just unscrews?

Thanks for any and all help.

Hopefully these pics will show up. I am still learning how to do that as well. :confused:

Ha, it worked!

180_zps1d453fd6.jpg

181_zps53b981ae.jpg

182_zps0014c5af.jpg

Last edited:

durallymax

Leaking auxillary couplers are common when operators don't clean them before inserting hoses or beat them with a hammer because they didn't release the pressure.

If the machine has been sitting off there wont be much pressure on it, you can wiggle the aux control back and forth to relieve some of it.