1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Just some work pics

Discussion in 'Cranes' started by crane operator, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,956
    Location:
    sw missouri
    Fancy cutting saw I unloaded at a machine shop monday. Was supposed to be 12,000lbs. They were planning on using a pallet jack and a forklift to put it in place in the building. I had my old 25 ton grove (its about the only thing I have running right now:rolleyes:), good thing I had it instead of the mack/ national, it was 21,500lbs.

    I set it down and told them they were going to have to rethink the whole pallet jack plan. They had asked me to bring my machinery skates, so we put them under one end, and two pallet jacks on the other end, and pushed and pulled with the forklift to get it in the building. 20200210_101646.jpg

    Also got my block stowage rack built for the 40 ton. I've been going round and round with the parts guys for the bad pressure transducer to make the LMI work. I think I've got the right parts on the way now for it.

    . 20200213_084305.jpg

    New pac brake showed up for it today also, the old one was rusted tight, I got it freed up, but the cylinder was bad as well as the spring, so I just bit the bullet and got a new one. Actually, I think this one is military surplus, it was $550 off ebay, new ones are more like $1500. The new one is the "improved" model. My old one didn't have the extra arm and spring, I think its to control so it doesn't do too much back pressure.

    20200213_162544.jpg 20200213_162549.jpg
     
    DMiller likes this.
  2. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,956
    Location:
    sw missouri
    I think this is where my problem is in the 100 ton. The wiring is 20 years old, and it has a black outer cover that is super hard, it cracks instead of bends. This area with the blue wire coating gone, had a break in the black cover and it could have been touching on the block or the injection pump. I peeled back all the black part, and I'm going to splice in a section, if I can figure out where it goes to in the lower cab, its getting a whole new wire.

    There are a lot of small hairline cracks in the insulation of the wiring. I hate the thought of replacing a wire at a time, but a new harness is big $. I think I may just end up going that route, it may save time in the end.

    Its so hard and brittle, it seems like the more you touch it and mess with it, the worse it is. I'm sure we didn't do it any favors when we unplugged it all and laid it out of the way when we swapped engines.

    20200213_075048.jpg 20200213_075140 (1).jpg 20200213_151554.jpg
     
    pushbroom and DMiller like this.
  3. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    7,668
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    That looks like it is way too close to letting all the magic smoke out!
     
    hvy 1ton and DMiller like this.
  4. hosspuller

    hosspuller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I'm thinking fire extinguishers mounted close to hand. My new machines have a ton more wiring than the 20 year old veterans.
     
    kshansen and DMiller like this.
  5. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6,621
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Looks as should have back wound the sensors another four to five turns, WOW!! I see they can plug in.

    Wiring in a high heat load area CO? brittling the insulation?
     
  6. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,956
    Location:
    sw missouri
    I think its a combination of heat and age, as well as the type of insulation. It really only had a small crack and area exposed. By the time I got it unwound, and the black outer layer off, I had a lot more insulation falling off.
    The outer black shield is like a heat shrink, its hard to remove and very brittle, I got it off with a combination of razor knife and bending it to where it would crack. There are numerous other small spots in other wires with cracks in the insulation, which makes me think pretty hard about a new harness.

    When they have three wires going to a sensor, its like they were machine wound together, then a heat shrink outer over them. I've got wiring in 40 year old stuff with wiring in better shape.
     
  7. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6,621
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Pretty common on High density heavily obstructed air flow machines as these. Some of the harness sheathing I have seen last thirty years brittles out pretty easily quickly and badly.
     
  8. Knepptune

    Knepptune Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    Indiana
    Typically when wire is wound like that it’s data transmission and not analog/digital signals. Some form of canbus. It’s to prevent outside frequencies from interfering with the data transfer.
     
    Nige and DMiller like this.
  9. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,956
    Location:
    sw missouri
    The machine is canbus (at least that's what the tech says), the mass air flow sensor I'm dealing with right now is 5 volts DC , then the blue wire is signal to the ecm.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  10. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,956
    Location:
    sw missouri
    Knepptune- I did have a question for you on a 500e check your messages.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  11. terex herder

    terex herder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Kansas
    Liquid electrical tape is your friend!
     
  12. Camshawn

    Camshawn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Langley BC
    Try scoring the outer jacket with a razor knife and then hit it with a heat gun. If it is heat shrink, it will split along the score line and you should be able to pull the covering right off. Cam
     
  13. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    13,132
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    CANBUS/signal/data transmission wires such as the one in your photos should have approximately one twist per inch of length to prevent outside interference with the signal that is being transmitted along the twisted wires.