• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Graders payed more?

Jimothy

Occupation
Digger
Motor grader operators get payed more then other machinery or is that a myth? I know that is highly subjective just have an chance to learn On an older machine wouldn’t be getting paid and will be painful I’ve used some ancient stuff before and sometimes figuring out each machines quirks can be detrimental to learning haha

skyking1

I'm a union operator, when I go out I get a negotiated rate when i get there. That does not mean I can't negotiate for a higher rate, that dispatch rate is a minimum :) I have done that before, when I had to run a big job from the seat of a hoe.
I know that a fast and efficient blade hand can make a development job go well. It would not surprise me that a hot hand could negotiate a good rate.

ovrszd

Occupation
Retired Army
A brand new machine is worthless without a good operator.

An old worn out machine is priceless with a good operator.

So, for me, the operator is worth more than the machine.

20/80

Occupation
operator
Motor grader operators get payed more then other machinery or is that a myth? I know that is highly subjective just have an chance to learn On an older machine wouldn’t be getting paid and will be painful I’ve used some ancient stuff before and sometimes figuring out each machines quirks can be detrimental to learning haha