• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Digging wall footings, need pointers and tips ASAP

D Grade

Occupation
Service Technician
Hello all,

So I got hired by a local masonry company as a backhoe operator today. Im going to be starting a temp-to-hire and given good performance, will be permenant in a few weeks. My problem is that I havent had experience digging footers of any kind. I have about five years backhoe experience but its all yard clean up, spoil transfer, and non-complicated/specific trenching. I also have not been a full time operator and my dream has been to operate full time since I was young so this means alot to me.

I have been watching videos regarding trenching and footings and I think I get the jist of it. Im also pretty confident in my ability to keep the bucket level during bringing the boom and stick in. What I feel I might have a problem with is integrating bucket curl smoothly in this action which I want to get good at to speed my production. My new boss made it clear that production is huge and to make it worse, he will be watching me next week.

Id like to know any advise in digging footings, keeping production up, and just about anything else. This is a major move for me so I want to take advantage of this opportunity. Im hoping you guys can help.

Btw, Ill be running Cat 420E's, 420F's, and 446B's with hammers. I have experience with Cat's so Im very comfortable in them. I just want to make sure my nerves dont get the best of me and screw this up.

Thanks guys!

stumpjumper83

Occupation
Movin dirt
Well, the good news is digging footers is not hard, its just dirt, and sometimes rock.