• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

D330a Generator, fuel line gushing, need help!

Azitizz

Hi there. Looking for some help figuring out where to start with this new diesel fuel leak. I'm a millwright by trade but havent worked much on diesel generators, and am offering my volunteer services to a small non-profit organization who have these generators for emergency lighting and some heating.

These lines coming from the primer pump/filter section have always been open ended. the one in the picture (should be attached here) thats gushing was only dripping very slightly last month. Something changed and now its gushing. Manuals I have arent much help for parts breakdown.

Any Ideas?
Engine is Hewitt/Catepillar D330a. Serial number: 56B00470, runnig a 75kw generator.

Attachments

• PXL_20211116_174458353.jpg
    PXL_20211116_174458353.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 38

Coaldust

Occupation
Cargo Tanks, ULSD, RUG, Methanol, LPG
Those are weep lines. So, when a lip seal in the fuel injection pump/governor goes bad, instead of filling up the crankcase with diesel damaging bearings and such, the fuel will escape to the atmosphere instead and hopefully someone notices it. So, where exactly does that line go to?

Coaldust

Occupation
I think one line goes to the fuel transfer pump and the other goes to the gov. But, I haven’t worked on a D330 since I did a major restoration and major overhaul of the backup, backup generator on the M/V NOAAS Miller Freeman. 1990? Good golly, I’m getting old.

Azitizz