• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Air cooled Diesel engines.

hosspuller

I am considering a purchase of a Deutz-allis 6250 tractor. It's 28 years old at best.

BUT .. I have no experience with the air cooled diesel engines. It has a Deutz F3L 912 engine

What should I look at / for / in conditions or concerns. Does this tractor have a timing belt that should be changed ? Parts ? Service tools ? I'm on my own for all repairs / service since there are no local dealers.

Any other thoughts would be appreciated. TIA

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
Pull the sheet metal covers and see how much crude is stuck on the fins. If a lot then pass it by.

repowerguy

Occupation
mixer truck mechanic
If it has loose or missing sheet metal ducting be careful. On a cold start listen carefully for a popping noise that goes away when it warms up, that is a head gasket blown from ether likely. Tough, durable, and easy to rebuild engines. Iv'e rebuilt a couple and they have some German quirks to them, but all in all a solid engine.

funwithfuel

Occupation
Mechanic
X2 on solid platform. Yes, timing belt. You don't know when it was done, bank on doing it. As JohnC stated packed material in oil cooler and through cooling passageways in the head are warning signs. If it starts, runs and has power (without fogging the countryside) no loud knocks. Should be good to go. Someone posted a video a while back on LinkedIn. A little 4 banger deutz just chugging away on 3 with the rod blown out the side of the block. Didn't care , still had 3 and was still running this oil derek

Vetech63