• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

27 years and, poof!

heymccall

Got word that we're closing shop.
I've cleaned, maintained, and repaired the same fleet since october '96. I'm spoiled as I've always had long leash and no micromanagement above me. Road mechanic, shop mechanic, chief truck washer, etc.... and I'm unsure where to go now.
I have a high school diploma and zero formal mechanical education, but, I think dealer work may not be a great fit for me.
I simply don't know where to start, here in western Pennsylvania.

Thanks for listening, as I just had to get that off my chest.

I know that I'll land on me feet somewhere, but the worry is just starting to set in.

1693TA

Occupation
FAA Radar Engineer, (Retired)
A line mechanic or working in a large shop would never appeal to me either. Small shops where I would fit in can't afford to pay a lot so kind of always did my own thing. Even through my federal govt. employment tenure I had a very long leash and did mostly what I needed to do without supervision.

There is still quite the need for the guy that can bounce around and specialize in nothing but you may need to work a few different positions within different employers to find something that both works for you, and pays respectable. Keep your 401(K) and whatever retirement benefits earned in force if able, as much will stay with you. Implement dealerships are always on the hunt for talent and some of the larger ones can pay respectable. I don't like farm equipment myself, (other than delivery) but I'm not young, nor as hungry as used to be in days gone by.

Birken Vogt

Charter Member