1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

06 CAT 277B restoration

Discussion in 'Compact Track/Multi Terrain Loaders' started by hvguy, Jan 30, 2017.

  1. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    Ended up selling my old 74 case 350 crawler loader for this gem. Didnt quite get a super awesome deal, but there was just enough meat on the bone to seal the deal. (12k)

    Engine runs, everything works except the high speed track option, it needs a new track, and the engine puffs and misses a little at high rpm-no load; but clears up when actually doing work.

    Did I mention the pilot valves are leaking? oh what fun.

    Turns out it does have a VE pump, please dont scare me <3

    IMAG1597.jpg IMAG1617.jpg IMAG1618.jpg IMAG1619.jpg
     
  2. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    Here is the new track they installed, the other side is slick and stretched all the way out. (tries to jump off)
    IMAG1624.jpg IMAG1626.jpg
     
  3. bobatack

    bobatack Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    have you changed fuel filters already on this machine?
    Also check if the 12 volt fuel lift pump is still working (2nd picture bottom right hand corner , its mounted on top of fuel filter
    also check for possible water/fuel contamination
     
  4. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    The seller drained and cleaned the tank, and replaced the fuel filter. (I watched him)

    Ill check the lift pump, good idea.
     
  5. bobatack

    bobatack Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    with ignition turned on and engine not running the 12 volt pump should be humming along
     
  6. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    well, that pump doesn't work, just checked. Ill check for power later.

    I really appreciate the info!
     
  7. bobatack

    bobatack Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    kinda doubtful if any of those machines were factory shipped with the 2 speed drive option installed
     
  8. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    It has a rabbit symbol on the panel, but they may just because they only make 1 panel for it.
     
  9. Tags

    Tags Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I had a 287B and I'm pretty sure it had the sticker showing two speed in the cab but I "think" that the two speed wasn't even available on the B series MTL's, it wouldn't be the first time I was wrong though....

    Good luck with your project, once you get her fixed up take a lot of care on how you twist an turn with her, those tracks do not like rock, if your run it with a little common sense those tracks will last a long time. How many hours on that?
     
  10. bobatack

    bobatack Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    With machine running ready to roll.
    Does the rabbit symbol light up if you press and release trigger on left hand joystick?
     
  11. thepumpguysc

    thepumpguysc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,773
    Occupation:
    Master Inj.Pump rebuilder
    Location:
    Sunny South Carolina
    That's the ones that are a bear to time.. not so much the operation, just the room or lack of it..
    Just remove the front cover, oil fill.. and rotate the engine until you can get the #'s to line up around the 9:00 position..
    2#'s on the idler & 1 on the pump..THEN pull the pump..
    Here's hopin you don't have to go down that road.. Have fun..:)
     
  12. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    nope, it also has 4 buttons on the top, tried all those, nothing works except the horn (top left corner )
    yeah, I dont plan on pulling it, hoping that since the lift pump doesn't work, its just weak.... I recall VE pumps in cummins engines dying prematurely because the lift pump died.... better get that fixed asap and hope the pump isn't cavitating.
     
  13. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    2700
     
  14. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,500
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    If you post the S/N it's easy enough to find out if it was originally shipped from the factory with 2-speed.
     
  15. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    IMAG1623.jpg
     
  16. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,500
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    According to what I can see it is not equipped with 2-speed.
     
  17. bobatack

    bobatack Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    If HVGUY was able to restore an old crawler he might be able to install 2 speed motors and make the 277B into a 2 speed machine.
    I have few guys in my area that have done it already
     
  18. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    I have read about people doing this... However, I got under there and noticed there are 2 BIG hoses and a smaller hose.... as if it has a little shuttle for 2 speed....

    On another note, I went to change the oil... snapped a bolt off the inspection plate and had to excavate a couple pounds of dirt to get to the drain plug. Needless to say; this oil hasn't been changed in a LONG time.
    IMAG1628.jpg
     
  19. thepumpguysc

    thepumpguysc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,773
    Occupation:
    Master Inj.Pump rebuilder
    Location:
    Sunny South Carolina
    That's impressive..!!! LOL
     
  20. bobatack

    bobatack Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    the small line is probably the case drain for drive motor