• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

tb240 vs cat 304

Carolina start up

So i know they aren't exactly on the same level with the 240 being slightly smaller with less horsepower and weight but im wondering which would be better to go with and anyone's experiences with these units. I'm primarily a landscaper so these aren't going to be used daily and pushed to the limits both are used 240 has 2380 hours with a brand new thumb for 30k coming from a rental yard. the cat has 2800 hours from 40k and coming from the cat dealer it also has a thumb both are open stations. right now I have a few jobs lined up next year enough jobs to justify a purchase. i have a driveway drainage job actually about 4 of those a new culvert install and then some small clearing jobs nothing too crazy. Does anyone care to weigh in on which machine to get I can go either way both dealers are about 50 minutes away and I have no experience with either mostly just been renting a Kubota for the local places.

PeterG

Occupation
Contractor