• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Galion 150 Refurbish

BobCatBob

I bought the crane about 3 months ago and have spent most weekends working on leaks (resealed all the outriggers), new fluids, filters and a "minor" repair on the torque converter. I enjoy this kind of work (as I sit at a desk for a living) and thought I'd post a few pictures as she comes along.

This past weekend, I started to clean her up a bit with a hot pressure washer. As the grease is caked on, I did a once over on all but the under carriage, then focused on the boom. My intention is to work from the top down in preparation to prime then paint. Any suggestions as I go along would be much appreciated.:usa

Wash Trailer.JPGDirty Boom.JPGBoom Power Steamed.JPG

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Kudos for fixing up an old 150A. Odd machine, built well, but some parts are a PITA to work on, and one needs to be an octopus to work all the levers. Back in the day a favorite rig for millwrights and plant workers because they have a small boom tip head compared to other hydrocranes.

Does it have a Detroit or an International gasser?

BobCatBob

It's a Detroit 453N. When I have her rev'd up, smokes like a coal train, sounds like no other. It's fantastic.

I agree, getting to a lot of the filters was a trick (I have a small scar on my chin from the 1/2"-13 x 9" bolt dropping from the Trans filter) along with resealing the outriggers (had to remove two of them to get the pistons out....very little wiggle room, even plasma cut my own gland wrench from 1/2" steel plate). Here's a couple pics of the cylinders: