• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

580B Rockford PowerShuttle - Stumped and missing Phil!

Axl

Occupation
Power Plant Operator / Repair Shop Owner- Mechanic
First, I will have to say this is a great forum. I have been a heavy equipment mechanic for about 26 years now and I find a lot of good information here for even the advanced mechanic. Now, I am looking for some help on an older 580B with a Rockford power shuttle that has me totally beating my head on the wall! :Banghead A friend of mine brought me this machine he purchased with a the forward and reverse clutches burned up. We split the machine in half and replaced all the bearings, seals, and anything that looked questionable from the torque convertor to the manual transmission. When assembling the clutch packs, all were bench tested with 150psi air pressure. I had to replace all the springs in the clutch packs. This took some research. I did find some that have the exact number of coils other than the diameter of the spring was a little heavier. They worked great and I did not have to cut them down. I think the price for both sides was around $50. If anyone is interested I could dig my receipt out and tell you where I got them. The trouble I am having is that both clutch packs want to engage at the same time. The pressures on the convertor, lube port, and clutch pressure port fall within spec. The case was bored and sleeved where the cast rings from the main shaft normally show wear. I removed the control valve assembly and dye penetrate checked for cracks. Nothing showed up. I tested the clutch packs through the top plate ports on the shuttle valve and bo