• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

which spectra laser?

bombi275

I have been thinking of getting a laser for house pads, footings, driveways and the like. I was thinking about the GL422, as I just as well get the dual grade while I am at it, but now am curious about the new UL633 or GL622 as well. I would like the cr600 receiver to use on my excavator as well as the hl700 for grade checks. I have never used a laser before and would appreciate any help I could get as far which one would be better for me. Thanks for any recommendations.

Randy88

It gets down to how much do you want to spend and how much are your using it, I have two lasers, always have had two, a cheaper one, and another high end laser, to be honest I like the cheaper one better, a GL422 dual slope laser is about the handiest I have found, it does it all and has its own remote too, which is really nice once you have had one, saves a lot of time chasing and changing grades on layout work and figuring estimates, but most important, is the weight of the laser. If I have to lug one around all day long constantly resetting it, I'll take the light weight one any day, also works on a lighter tripod and which is nice to save having to drag out the heavy larger tripod all the time. My high end dual slope is the GL722 I think, which is an excellent laser for when I'm running a machine control and need something that wind doesn't bother as much, which brings about the discussion of tripods, heights and uses you'll have for one.