• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What weight and brand motor oil for Cat 426

edgephoto

I am new to heavy equipment and recently picked up an older Cat 426 (7BC). I am getting together all the fluids, filters and other maintenance items so I can make sure everything is up to date.

I am trying to decide on engine oil. In the manual it lists a bunch of weights depending, of course, on ambient temps. I live in CT. It can go below zero here and occasionally hits 100 during the summer. If it is above 90-95 or below 20 I will not work outside. So the manual calls for 15W-40 for +5 to +122 deg and 10W-30 for -4 to +104.

So three questions:
1. Which weight do you prefer 15W-40 or 10W-30?
2. Synthetic or regular?
3. Any brand you think is better or to stay away from?

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
1. I'd go with 15W40 personally.
2. If you like throwing money away, synthetic. If you follow the manual recommendations you're going to be changing the oil every month or 250 hours (whichever comes first) so you might just as well use mineral oil.
3. Any of the major oil company brands (Shell, Mobil, etc.) would be fine. You're looking for something that meets API CH-4 specification or better. You don't need to buy Cat-branded oil unless your local dealer has a promotion that makes it cheaper. I'd stay away from parts house oil brands or anything that comes from "Joe Blow's Gas & Groceries".