• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What do you like/dislike in a Equipment Salesman?

Iron Slinger

Hello All,

I am new to the forum. Great forum by the way.
Over the past 2 years I have been a heavy equipment Salesman. My question is, what do you guys expect in the salesman? Honesty, experience, expertise,knowledge, etc. Lay it on me. I am trying to find out what I can do to help my customers.

Thank you,

Iron Slinger

humboldt deere

Occupation
general building and engineering contractor
Salesman needs detailed knowledge of his product and the local markets it could effectively serve. Can't be too pushy calling all the time. And you need to be able to b.s. with your client and be interested in honestly benefiting him with the sale.

bobcat ron

Banned
Occupation
playing with the new 247 MTL
I'd like them just to pull out the paper work and tell me where to sign, I seem to know more about the product I am going to buy just by cruising the Internet for information on them.

I've even had one sales rep tell me I should think about a future in compact equipment sales, I told him "I'd rather work with them than BS about them".

stuvecorp

Salesman needs detailed knowledge of his product and the local markets it could effectively serve. Can't be too pushy calling all the time. And you need to be able to b.s. with your client and be interested in honestly benefiting him with the sale.

It is nice to have the salesman call once and a while and chat a little. I don't like it when I ask about something and get a bs answer or never get back to me.

cat320

Charter Member