• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Wanted brand/model recommendations for tracked skid (used)

SnoSheriff

Newbie here. I'm leaning towards a purchase of a used tracked skid. This machine will be for personal usage around the house, lift things, snow clearing, clear some bush and odd jobs here and there. I'm not a contractor. This will be my first skid and my budget is about 12K USD (thinking buying from Ironplanet). I'd like highest HP possible with Auxiliary hydraulic pump. I did some online research and it looks like the following may fit the needs:
  • ASV 4810
  • Bobcat T190, T250, T300
  • Caterpillar?
  • CAT?
For some reason I don't see many ASV threads here. I'm looking for brand and model recommendations and feedback. Machines to stay away from, the good, bad etc... Thanks!

Last edited:

bonanno23

Occupation
union drainage foreman, also own a full time lands
I'm a takeuchi/cat guy. If you're using it at home only. I would go either cat or asv. They do the least amount of ground damage.

curbside

Not sure if your in the Winnipeg area but if your buying a track unit in the 12000 dollar range I would stay with a Bobcat. Dealer is good in the Wpg area and have a good supply of parts. If your buying a track machine for that price you will need parts.

SnoSheriff

Not sure if your in the Winnipeg area but if your buying a track unit in the 12000 dollar range I would stay with a Bobcat. Dealer is good in the Wpg area and have a good supply of parts. If your buying a track machine for that price you will need parts.
I'm just outside of Winnipeg... Have you dealt with the other local major brand dealers?