• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Volvo A40D no communication with ECM's not enough power to pull a hill

kmorris

Occupation
Diesel mechanic
Hello all, I'm new to off road trucks in general. I come from a long history of generators, engine diagnostics, overhauls, and wiring troubleshooting. No transmission experience other than general mechanical knowledge. I have meet my match, 2003 Volvo A40D. Runs, drives, shifts, won't pull itself up a hill. Engine just falls on its face and to make matters worse for some reason I can not get my Texa laptop to connect to it. I've verified canbus voltage on one and two along with hots and grounds for 5 days plus read a 3,650 page service manual. I'm lost and wondering if anyone has any suggestions or helpful information. The display shows a code for low oil level and the new sensor has been ordered scheduled to arrive tomorrow. Thanks for any support.

funwithfuel

Occupation
Mechanic
In answer to Nige, yes, it's a Sachs converter with lock up and also runs the retarded.