• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Volvo 861

Hey all,
I just joined up here in the hope that someone could help me out.i have an old Volvo 861 articulated dumper that the 6x6 has not worked on since I got it earlier this year. the selector lever moves from hi to lo ratio but when moved to engage all wheel drive nothing happens.
All useful advice welcome.
Thanks in advance

sfrs4

Occupation
parts admin
Before anyone tags me in this..... I have no knowledge on the 860/861's they are well before my time and even that of our 20+ year served fitters, so as the dragons ( sharks in America ) say " I'm out "

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.

Volvomad

Did u try the ecu. I only ever saw 4 x 6 versions and all my little knowledge starts at the skip

sfrs4

Occupation
parts admin
@Clarence Boddiker, so one of my very good customers is a follower but not joined on here, and saw this thread, he emailed me last night with some information which could be useful, so thank you Marcus. and below is a copy of what he sent

I still do possess some knowledge on these machines, having worked with them back in the 1980’s as the 6x4 version was the tool of choice back in the day and very reliable.
The selector valve built into the column shift lever was pneumatic and differed from the 860S predecessor that used a three position electric switch to control air flow to the differing H/L solenoid valves, but both types still actuated a small air cylinder that engaged the PTO and sent drive out to the centre axle via the torque multiplier box.