• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

vibratory roller

Randy88

First I've never used or been around one before, only plate compactors.

What we're doing is grain bin pads and building pads after the footings are poured we want to go in and "possibly" use clay to back fill with if it can vibrated with a sheep's foot roller instead of hauling in 100's of truck loads of crushed rock. I need a good enough base to pour cement over the top right away. What we've done in the past is haul in clean rock and plate compact it which has worked fine. But then I have to haul off all the clay and was wondering if I could somehow reuse it and save all the trucking and also "some" of the purchase of the rock and instead put that into a vibratory roller and speed this whole process up considerably.

The fill will range from 2 feet to 6 feet deep. I also have pit run uncrushed strippings available onsite as well if that would help out any. The stuff with too much mud mixed in to crush type material that was used to build driveway base out of mixed with cover crush rock mix where the old bins and buildings once stood, also have broken up concrete we thought about crushing smaller and dumping in as fill too. Not sure any of this is suitable, but thought I'd ask those that have been there tried it before.

If this idea isn't feasible, I'll have to dedicate a couple trucks to hauling in and back offsite most of a summers worth of time and two drivers and trucks.