• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

USDOT is just a scam

wlhequipment

Occupation
Mechanic
Sure seems like it anyway. I just got my DOT number; I didn't know I even needed one. I've been running the medium duty truck for about 5 years now, and never got stopped, never had anyone ever tell me I was supposed to have one. I thought as long as I was under 26K, I was ok. That's not the case. Anyway, so I got my number, yay me. So, as soon as you finish that ridiculous application process on FMCSA's website, you start to get calls and emails. I mean hundreds of em. All these agents trying to prey on your inexperience and fears. All these guys telling you "we just checked your USDOT status, and you're in violation..." crap like that. That's total BS. I got my number 2 weeks ago, and I'm still getting calls and emails. They have slowed down though. So then, we have the physical coming up, which I'm not worried about, but that's $500 that my insurance won't pay. Than there's the annual inspection of the truck itself. Here's the real scammy part. I asked the licensing people who I have to take the truck to, and they told me "any authorized USDOT inspection station" and to just google it, which I did. Every shop in my area is "authorized". So here I am, thinking, I'm a mechanic, what do I have to do to get authorized? All I have to do is fill out a form that says I have 2 years experience working on these trucks. I don't even send that in, I just fill it out, and keep it in a file, and I'm authorized. Well, I probably spend almost that time building this truck, so I'm authorized. Then, I found a phrase in the regulations th