• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

union question

mudober

Occupation
heavy equiptment operator
Hello, I am a union operator. Here where working under the presidental agreement. My ? Is about machine switching a b a usually but not here. I stay on my machine and I don't switch unless someone is sick or otherwise not here. Also there maybe some instences where something unforseen happens and you need a different machine for awhile.
But what pisses me off is these guys that will change equiptment 4 or 5 or more times a- day and do it day after day. Case in point I have been watching two other subs. And there workers for about the last 3 or 4 mounths.
I don't understand why the contract would decied when it would be aproperiat to have that many equiptment changes.
Can someone tell me why we even have a presidental agreement?

Turbo21835

Contract spells out how many times you switch machines per day. If they are doing more than the contract, turn the company ass kissers in. A union operator lives by the contract and dies by the contract.

mudober

Occupation
I agree, but what I keep hearing is that under this damm presidents agreement machine changes are unlimited. That is a bunch of crap I think, there has to be some stipulation to it.

maddog

unless you own the equipment why would you have any say over who operates it, when, where, how? just a question.

Blacksmoke07

Occupation
Heavy Equipment Operator