• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Trail king advantage with stinger, shimming question

Bldunn

I am new to pulling a stinger. The stinger my job has is a single axle. I loaded it today with a 93,000 lb (I think that's what they said it weighs) and was told I didn't put enough shims. We got the pressures on the axles as follows pusher axle on truck is at 50psi, the drives on the truck are at about 63-Ish psi, the trailer (3 axle ) is at 60 psi and the booster/stinger is at about 50 psi. At first, I had three shims 1/2, 1/4, and 1/8, but it looked like the flip was at too much of a peak. Is the thing to do with these is get a good peak on it with the shims and then load it, and hope the weight evens it out and the booster gets all the weight we want to get on it? According to the chart on the booster it's got about 17k on it now. The trailer is a 55 ton, tk-110 I believe. Right now I've just got the half inch shims in the booster and the flip axle. They may be a little bigger than half inch. But even with the one shim it still had a little peak. I'm guessing I only want it flat and level (booster/stinger with flip axle) when I have to pull it when I'm empty? I just don't want to screw anything up. Also, do you shim the booster or spreader first and then the flip axle or is it shim axle first then spreader bar with a trail king? Nobody at work is much help on shimming, I'm the only truck driver there.

Scrub Puller

Yair . . .

Bldunn

In Australia most manufacturers would assist.

Why not send them an email politely stating your case just like you posted here, they may send you all sorts of useful information.