• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Torque Converter and...

Michael Caravaglia

Hello. I have received some great assistance on this forum, so I'm hopeful someone can direct me further. I'm a total novice!

I learned (from this forum) that my Torque Converter is shot. I've been able to diagnose and confirm that it is indeed so. Yesterday, I split the tractor to begin removal of the torque converter, but it appears my issues are deeper than I'd hoped.

I have attached two, annotated, images that show the issue(s) and I also have some questions noted on these images. If there is anyone that can look at these images and respond to my questions, I would be most grateful.

Thanks, in advance, to those that can advise me. I hope I can return the favor someday!

Attachments

• Image 1.jpg
    Image 1.jpg
    165.3 KB · Views: 158
  • Image 2.jpg
    Image 2.jpg
    171.2 KB · Views: 151

Michael Caravaglia

Sorry. I omitted that it's a 1983 Ford555. I'm a bit confused. When I split the tractor, should the fly wheel and torque converter remained with the front of the tractor and the engine? In other words the flywheel bolts to the front of the engine from the backside? My shop manual shows none of the details to help me.

mitch504

Yep, the thing you are talking about disconnecting from the driveshaft is the end of the crankshaft. The "ball bearings" are broken bolts, worn round from rubbing on the flywheel.

If you find a GOOD repair welder, he can probably build up those bolts and back them out. If so, a new flywheel and you are back in business.

Delmer