• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Terex TS-14 scraper steering issues

bflobil

Occupation
Farmer, dirt work
Just started running a TS-14 scraper that I bought and I am totally new to the scraper business. Its and older machine that has a DT466 retrofitted up front and the 4-71 in the back. I can turn the steering wheel about a half turn each way before any action and then it seems to jump that way. It is a nightmare to travel down the road with it jerking back and forth. There is some "slop" in a bolt under the cab where the steering is converted to the in-line plunger(forgive my ignorance in not knowing the proper terms) Any guidance from you all on what to look at for that? I assume I can eliminate some of the slop but I'm not sure that will take out the jerkyness in the steering.

bflobil

Occupation
Farmer, dirt work
Just for reference

Attachments

• 71242996200__E5170A19-3337-4244-8C13-B018D82F7999.jpeg
    71242996200__E5170A19-3337-4244-8C13-B018D82F7999.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 5

bam1968

Occupation
Excavating Contractor
A half a turn each way? So if your holding on at 12 oclock position the machine doesn't turn until your hand is in the 6 oclock position? The few that I have ran the steering wheel would only go about 1/4 turn each way. If yours is going twice that far I feel like you have something loose or really wore out. FWIW they can be a bit jerky.

bflobil

Occupation
Farmer, dirt work