• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

TD-8 drive problems

4xtrak.chmp

I have just recently got a td-8 e series and am having trouble with it driving or pulling it self. When I shift from reverse to forward i have to wait on it to go in gear before letting off of the decel pedal or it will just sit there. Also when pushing a heavy load sometimes it will act like you took it out of gear....when it does this you can hit the decel pedal and when it idles down you can feel it go back in gear. I'm a new dozer operator but have watched other machines run and they respond immediatly when shifted. I think the clutches or converter is worn as well because if you push on a tree it will just sit there and not spin tracks. Need opinions !!! By the way all fluids are topped off .

g_man

Occupation
Retired
What does your clutch pressure gauge read when in gear ? Lift the floor plates and watch your drive shaft. When pushing on the stump with the tracks stopped is the drive shaft turning ?

4xtrak.chmp

Thanks gman...I will check that as soon as I get to run it again...maybe tomorrow. We got a pretty hard rain here today so might be Monday. I changed the trans filter today as well as the hydraulic filter with no change in the way that it acts. Will report back with my findings.

4xtrak.chmp

Clutch pressure gauge is in the blue on the right hand side...guess that would be a strong pressure and the driveshaft is turning when it seems to pop out of gear. Is more like some kind of hydraulic release than clutches to me.

g_man

Occupation
Retired
4X, have you got the help you need ?