• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Swapping an N14 to a 3406 in a T800

Hallback

Occupation
Gyppo tower logger
I am going to be swapping out a bad N14 for a 3406. I have never done this before. Are there any tips, tricks or warnings I need to know?

Thanks!

pushbroom

Find a similar year T800 with a cat and order the factory harness for it. Also take some pictures of routing/ location of lines to help you make it close to a factory install. if you have a serial number from a CAT powered T800 I can get you all the factory harness schematics and routing. You can also try theses dudes, kustomtruckparts.com I have gotten a couple harness from them. Rad hoses/ pipes intake and exhaust are straight forward enough. It is better to get a cat that came out of a kenworth as flywheel housings, thermostat housings, fan hub, fuel filter mount location and turbo mounting location change per OEM.

Truck Shop

Here's the last six for a late 1996-758640 the harness should work just fine.

Truck Shop

DoyleX

Occupation
Lever Puller, Gear Jammer, Pipe Twister
Why why why would you go through all that work of changing more things than you know. Find a mechanical N14 if you want no electronics. The N14 is probably one of the most economical engines for making a good amount of simple horsepower. Find your donor truck that has everything.

Truck Shop

Why why why would you go through all that work of changing more things than you know. Find a mechanical N14 if you want no electronics. The N14 is probably one of the most economical engines for making a good amount of simple horsepower. Find your donor truck that has everything.