• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Step up to a backhoe from a skidsteer?

Skideoder

Wasnt really sure where else to put this, so I figured I'd try here.

I've been operating a Bobcat 763G since mid 2005. Great little machine, low hours and very reliable, but I find myself hitting its limits on pretty much every job I take on here (just moved from Az to Tx 7 mo ago). Doing alot of land clearing with tree and brush removal.

Now, my stepdad owns a larger excavation company in central IL. He's been thinking of trading in one of his Caterpillar backhoes, a '96 or '97 416 (erops, a/c, 4x4) and getting himself a new Bobcat CTL. The dealer kind of lowballed him @ 16k, but the machine has around 8k hrs., has a few leaks, and isnt the prettiest machine. So I basically offered him the same $ for the machine and he's more willing to sell it to me for a cheaper price instead of trading it in. This machine mainly sits around the property now and he uses it hear and there for random tasks. So it doesnt get alot of hours put on it anymore.

My issue is that with re-starting my business here, I dont have alot of extra capitol to put out right now. Granted he might be willing to take partial payment, then let me make some payments till its paid off, but I would probably end up selling my bobcat in order to fund the majority of it.