• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Recommend me a welder

Mike L

Occupation
Self employed field mechanic
Looking at smaller welders for the home shop. I have 110 and 220v In my shop. I’m looking for a smaller mig welder that also has the ability to add a spool gun for aluminum without breaking the bank for home projects.

Pony

I'm certainly no expert, but can usually glue stuff together.
I am mostly self taught and only had cheaper welders til I lashed out and recently bought a Kemppi Evo200. Main use is building steel cattle yards so size and portability was a big thing.
It is a really nice welder and even though expensive, after using it is certainly worth the money.
Don't know if my model can support spool gun, but I'm sure they will have one that does.
Very happy with Kemppi, however based on a sample size of one only.

Old Doug

I bought a HTP back in the 80s it has been great. Its 110 i know when i got it i would be welding mainly sheet metal and welding thicker stuff with our 225 lincoln stick welder. If i ever buy a new welder agin i would look at there stuff first.

Welder Dave

Get a 230 volt welder. Aluminum needs a lot more amps for the same thickness than steel. The more you spend the better of spool gun you'll get. I'd look at Miller or Lincoln or even Hobart. Hobart is generally very similar to Miller but may lack some features. If you can afford a machine on wheels it will take 12 inch spools of wire which is much less per pound.

pumkinhead