• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Rebuilding a hydraulic pump from a JCB 506c loadall

Ricothebear

Occupation
Project manager
Hey everyone, so I decided to get my hands dirty again and have a go at fixing a leaking hydraulic pump in a JCB telehandler. It was leaking about a drip every minute, so It was pretty bad. The foreman who was using it said it had been leaking like that for a month. but it only leaked when you shut it off (makes sense because the vacuum created by the pump kept the oil from leaking during use. Then he would park it over a drip pan and turn it off).

I've never done this before but I have worked on automotive transmissions in the past, so I figured this would be the same principle. Pull pump, disassemble, inspect, replace seals (best case) Replace pump (worst case)

I drained the units hydraulic tank and pulled the pump off already. I'm going to disassemble it tomorrow but I wanted to be sure I'm not getting ahead of myself here. So I thought I'd ask here first:

1. Is there any visual indicators that the current pump is garbage
2. Would you bother replacing seals (is it worth the risk of having it leak again) or just get a new pump (cost of JCB seal kit is 70$ , cost of new pump is 950$)
3. What is typically the cause of the pump seal failing?
4. any other advice or suggestions for a first timer here?

f311fr1

Pictures would help. You can probably replace as cheap as you can repair. What type of pump is it? Gear, Vane, or Piston? If it is a gear you should be able to reverse eng a replacement.

Ricothebear

Occupation
Project manager