• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Questions from a beginner !

Madman

Hi everyone this is my first post and first question. Here goes. I'm starting an 8 week, heavy equipment operators course ( excavator, loader, backhoe and dozer ) in 2 months. I'm 36 and worked for a construction company 20 years ago 1 summer doing labour work ( and spent a few hours driving a very small roller ). I'm a welder by trade with a bit of work experience welding ( but not a whole lot ) because I spent most of my working live working in the woods around lots of different forestry equipment. I've got alot of experience operating 4x4 tractors with logging winches in the woods and used to own one myself. These tractors had loader buckets on the front and I did alot of snow plowing and moving a bit of dirt with them. There's my life history!:sleeping So where will I start after this course ? Will I have to start as a labourer digging dirt with a shovel ( which I did 20 years ago ) ? Will my welding background help me land a job ? What should I expect ? etc... etc... Thanks and I'll take all the advice/tips that you can give me !

Grader4me

Welcome to the forum. If you look around the site this topic has come up quite a few times. Loads of good advice and tips for people like yourself wanting to have a career operating heavy equipment.
Good luck :thumbsup

digger242j

Administrator
Occupation
Self employed excavator
So where will I start after this course ? Will I have to start as a labourer digging dirt with a shovel