• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Pond catch basin

cosmaar1

This is a question for all you guys who have built a pond before, more specifically the ones who have installed a catch basin type drainage system.

I’ve got a plan on how I’m going to do this, but doesn’t hurt to ask for other opinions as I have never done this before.

I’ve purchased a 2’x2’ precast concrete catch basin that I will have to knockout the side wall to accept my 15” double wall pipe.

Obviously I’m not going to be able to make a watertight hole between the concrete and pipe, so what do you all recommend for sealing the connection point?

In the research I’ve done, people use grout, hydraulic cement, etc., but I’m wondering which option is better or if I need to go a different way.

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
This one is right up my alley.

First of all will a 15" dual wall HDPE fit in the side of a 2x2 knockout box? We don't use KO's that small, all the ones we use are 4x4.

For the connection I would suggest a 1:2 mixture of portland cement and sand. 1 shovel cement to 2 shovels sand. We also use Quickcrete stone veneer mix which you can buy at HD and only requires water. The veneer mix has admixtures that helps it stay put vertically and has some water proofing characteristics.