• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Plywood alternative?

Cowboy90

Hello everyone, newbie here. I recently started working for a plumbing company doing emergency repairs. It’s usually just a spot repair in a sewer or water main. We cut the grass, lay it off to one side on plywood, then excavate the trench. We place the spoils on sheets of plywood so we can do the job and backfill without damaging the yard any more than is absolutely necessary. My question, is there a better way out there? I know they make special rubber mats specifically for this purpose, but the company doesn’t want to spend the money on them. Plywood works, but I’ve seen the sheets slide around and if the operator doesn’t notice, he digs up a big chunk of grass. Plus, in the winter it gets soggy and falls apart. I’ve thought about trying to get an old belt off a rock crusher and using that, but I figured I’d check for better ideas before I start trying to built my own system.

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Well most quarries, at least the one I worked for, had good supplies of used belting just laying about. If you are a customer for their stone for other projects they would probably be glad to give you some.