• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Opinions on a perspective Cat 416

NHGus

Occupation
Fabricator/welder
There is a 90 Cat 416 4x4 backhoe that I'm seriously considering making an offer on and would appreciate any opinions and or advice/thoughts. I'm a newbie with construction equipment, I am familiar with most agriculture equipment how ever so it's not all that foreign to me. The basic machine specs: 1990 416, 5700 hours, standard hoe, 4x4. I've ran this machine a few times now(loading trucks and site work) and have had the chance to take a good look at it. The hydraulics are strong(backhoe, loader and stablizers will lift machine at idle), it always starts right up, I couldn't detect any slop, everything seems tight, no welds, cracks or questionable repairs, newer teeth on bucket and cutting edge on loader, the tires are pretty good and the parking brake works well. The owner of the machine is a fairly meticulous guy, the machine appears to be regularly maintained, and well kept.
Now the issues; the brakes consistently groan and also squeek while the machine is warming up; all that said the machine stops fine. There appears to be a transmission leak (see pic), the whole trans housing is wet ,yet the trans fluid level is not low. I have nothing to compare it to so maybe it's me, but in 3rd gear, 4wd engaged, unloaded driving up a long consistent moderate uphill gravel road the machine seems a bit sluggish, is this typical?
The cab floor is a bit rusty, but I can take care of that without much trouble(I work in auto restoration and metal fabrication)