• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Newbie Service Questions

CraneInnovation

Occupation
Structural Engineer
Hello all,

This is my first time posting in the shop forum, although I have learned an awful lot from you guys already.

I am a new owner of an old Gradall (1990 G3WD) and it is my first piece of heavy equipment. I've been reading like crazy trying to plan my maintenance and overhaul plan. Its felt like drinking from a fire hose... Anyway, I had a few hydraulics questions as this area is largely new to me beyond the very basics (just learned what a pilot circuit is).

The machine has been sitting for a while and its previous maintenance appears spotty. Should I flush the hydraulic system? If so, what is involved with doing it? I have access to a heavy truck shop, but they do not do much with hydraulics. Is it similar to the process/equipment used for flushing other engine systems?

Gradall's service manual mentions getting the oil analyzed. I've seen that mentioned in this forum a few times. Where does a newbie look for someone to offer that service (particularly in the northeast)? What sorts of things do they provide data on?

Our company uses bio-degradable oil in many of our machines, particularly pile hammers. Seems to remove quite a bit of the "oh shoot" factor from leaks. Would it be possible (or smart) to run a bio-degradable oil in an excavator if I'm changing the oil anyway?

I want to tackle re-sealing and re-packing the cylinders. Gradall's service manual gives a great set of step-by-step instructions with pictures. Is this a task that someone with average mechanical skills could tackle?