• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

new to me cat 426 questions

gusbratz

Hello everyone, this is a great forum and I was hoping you guys could help me out with few questions. I just bough a 1989 cat 426 backhoe, this is my first newer piece of equipment. All my other stuff is 1960’s vintage and it is all very simple in comparison. I am not a professional I just do handyman stuff around the house. The cat is sort of a handyman’s special. The bucket and stick cyl’s are trash. The inside is all galled and scored up. The bits of metal got into the valve and made is mess up and the PO took off the cyls and blanked the lines and cleaned put the valve. He owned it for 12 years and looks like he did a lot of work to it in that time. Surprising because it only has 2200 hours on it.
1.) So I am wondering what would cause that to happen. He says the wear strips on the stick are worn and that caused the cyl to rub the inside of the boom. Not sure about that. But I need to find some cyl’s and change the fluid. I use DTE24 in my TD6 dozer and 530 case backhoe. Will that be ok? Manual calls for hydo. I am sort of scared of messing up the variable axial pump since it is new to me and seems high tech.
2.) He says he changed the transmission fluid and used rotella T 15-40. That doesn’t sound right to me. Im my case 530 case o matic I use tractor supply universal tractor transmission fluid. Would that work in the 426 Trans or should I drive 2 hours to the cat dealer and my some expensive cat stuff? I drove the cat 20 miles to get it home and it seems to go fine.

Thanks for any help.

Chisumtrail

Occupation
Parts changer