• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New guy with new (to me) ride

Gopher1

Occupation
Facility Manager for semiconductor manufacturing p
I have been watching this forum for awhile and there is a lot of knowledgeable people here, so I thought I would join up. I recently acquired a Case 350 dozer. I think it is a '72 or '73 model. Seems to be in pretty good shape, but needs a few things that I hope the good folks here can help me with. I am not a novice to dozers but have lots of questions. Looks like the previous owner was not a real stickler when it came to maintenance. To feel good about the whole thing, I need to change or add to most of the fluids. I got my hands on some aftermarket manuals, Jensales, and they seem pretty thorough. When I started to look at the lubricant info, I felt like I was going to end up at the Case dealer and spending a fortune on fluids, so that is my first question, what are acceptable alternates for all of the fluids, especially the hydraulic fluid, which needs to be changed real bad. I am in Central Texas and was going to use 30wt Rotella engine oil, if you agree. I will probably end up getting some of the filters from the dealer, unless you have some good alternatives. TSC stores are all over the place if that is an option. A couple more questions before I go. Looks like I need both top track rollers, so any suggestions for sourcing would be helpful. They don't look to be too hard to replace, so I guess I will give it a shot. I was also wondering about any additive for the diesel. The motor starts right up, idles pretty well, but, for lack of a better word, seems to kinda slobber s