• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Need some help/advice before buying an L553

Dmitriy Chimirev

This is my first skid steer so I have limited experience with them. I've been wrenching all my life, but never with these machines. I'm about to buy an L553. It's got 2 issues.

Main issue: the lift arm will not go up. The owner says that the machine was running 100% before this issue. There is also a decent leak at one of the lift cylinders. My best guess is that the hydro level got so low cuz of the leak that the arms stopped working.

Question: Where is the reservoir on this machine and how to I check the level? Can I just add some generic hydro fluid to test if the lift arms work? What are your other thoughts on this issue and what else am I missing that I should look at.

The second issue is that it's got an intermittent starting problem. The ignition looks like it's been changed recently (but maybe they didn't do a good job fixing it). How complicated is the wiring on these machines? I would imagine that it shouldn't be to hard to fix whatever is causing the electrical issue.

P.S. the machine is super clean and got 3k hours on it, no engine leaks or smoke, new tires. I can probably get it for just under 5K so to me it's worth the risk of buying a machine that's not 100% working. Unless I'm missing some big thing that could be a huge problem. Your input is much appreciated, thank you.

P.P.S. do I need to buy a manual for it, or someone can e-mail me a copy, thanks.

Welder Dave