• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Looking to upgrade my dump truck, school me a little on this.....

Gooseidi

Occupation
Union Electrician, Local 351 IBEW / owner of Cut '
I have been running an '87 C70 Chevy for about 6 years now. Spec'ed with the 8.2 Detroit fuel pincher, 5 speed/2sp rear, governed at 62mph, hydroboost brakes, 22,000GVW, 10' mason dump that's been welded up and has home made sides to offer more cubic capacity. The truck has 105,000 miles on it and is quite reliable.

The primary thing for my dump is to tow my chipper and get filled up with the chips my chipper makes. A chipper box would limit the use of the truck so an open top dump is a must. My truck fills up with one tree so I want a bigger box, an I or L pack would be great for tool, saws, tree climbing gear and the like. I will also be towing a 12 tag trailer with an 18,000lb loader on it from time to time.

I found this and I am interested: http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/cto/3483852503.html

It's an '84 International, 25,000GVW, DTA360, 5sp/split rear, juice brakes. My biggest worry is that the owner says its a 55mph truck. I know you can mod the heck out of the DTA 360 and easily get 350hp but wonder if I am selling myself short. My 8.2 is a slug empty. Loaded it's plain misery. Most of South Jersey is flat and my highway stints are very infrequent.