1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Kubota KX080-3 Hydraulic Hose Repair | Have To Raise Cab?

Discussion in 'Excavators' started by Price, Jan 15, 2022.

  1. Price

    Price Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Mississippi
    2008 KX080-3 with T4 engine. 3980 hrs. The main supply lines coming off of the hydraulic pump to the valve assembly need replacing. There are two of them and they run under the cab next to the engine firewall and then up to valve body.

    I do not see any kind of access for this area other than the edge panel running across the front and down the side of the machine. I can see most of the hose and do not see anything holding it but there are several hoses in this area.

    I spoke to a dealer and he said cost would be around $1600 labor to change those hoses because they would have to raise cab.

    Anybody else had to change these hoses? I am the third owner of the machine and the hoses had been rubbing against the frame enough that they are seeping fluid. I secured them when I bought the machine but it was too late.

    I do not have a shop to be able to raise cab so any help or advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. Canadian_digger

    Canadian_digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Ontario
    I’m pretty sure I changed those exact same hoses you are talking about. What a pain but I did it without raising the cab. Tie a rope on the old ones when you pull it out, so you can attach it to the new ones to be able
    To pull them back through. From what I can remember there are two or three clamps holding down a bunch of hoses. I remember not being able to put one or two of them back in place because they where so hard to reach. Lots of
    Cursing and swear but I got it done twice as two of those hoses blew on me. I now own a Cat 308. Those hoses are part of the reason for that.
     
  3. rondig

    rondig Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    506
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    fort macleod alberta
    There are actually 3 hoses that are nasty...change all 3 if you are in there. There is access for the hoses....but clamps are a nasty bit....I use a really 3 long extensions
     
  4. Price

    Price Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thanks. I have taken the large panel between the hood and the cab off along with the “L” shaped panel that wraps around the bottom of the cab. There is a hose clamp near where cab comes through firewall on the door side of cab but that is the only clamp I can find. Is there another one? I have pulled and had someone help pull but hose will not come out. I may try one more time but its taking a lot of my time. And the clamp I see has the screws facing up so if there is another clamp I can’t see it would be interesting trying to get those screws loose.
     
  5. Price

    Price Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thank you. So do you like the Cat 308 better than the Kubota?
     
  6. Canadian_digger

    Canadian_digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Ontario
    If you are pulling on it and it’s not moving. Chances are there is another clamp. It’s probably been around 8 years since I have don’t it. So memory is a bit foggy.
     
  7. Canadian_digger

    Canadian_digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Ontario
    I do. I’m on my second once since the kubota. Had a 308E2 and now have a Next gen 308. The kubota was a good machine. I just found parts and filters expensive. Believe it or not A complete set of Cat filters is around a 1/3 the cost 4C19E46E-9DFB-48D2-9C30-40AF49F98355.jpeg of Kubota.
     
  8. Price

    Price Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Mississippi
    The hose will move some, like 6”, but stops. I think it's hung up on the other hoses.

    That’s a nice machine. I ran an older 308 a few months ago and it was quiet. It didn’t have the hydraulic whine my Kubota has. I just bought the hydraulic return filter, fuel filter, oil filter, air filter and it was close to $300. The air filter was $89. I am going to look at Cat again and see what’s available around here. If its easier to work on and filters are less that would be nice.

    I see you got your boss in the picture!
     
  9. Canadian_digger

    Canadian_digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Ontario
    4EC5E0A2-4DFD-41DC-9350-E22B56B539DF.jpeg
    Yes. A little off topic but the boss and I used the 308 to help build a snow for last winter. Everything fun for the kids was shut down due to covid. So we built this with our spare time.
     
    Compression-Ignition and Price like this.
  10. Canadian_digger

    Canadian_digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Ontario
    If it’s moving only 6” and stops. I would be willing to bet there’s another clamp holding the hoses. Follow the hose with your hand under the cab as far as your hand will go to feel for more clamps.
     
    Price likes this.
  11. Price

    Price Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I finally got the two hoses out. Somebody has already changed these or other hoses in this area because all the clamps were gone or at least the top part. I hooked a ratchet strap to the hose again and just kept pulling and tightening until it started coming then pulled out by hand only. There was one of the smaller hoses I had to move out of the way. I attached a cord to the hoses before I pulled them out so hopefully I can pull them back on the same track they came out.

    Thanks for the information guys. Y’all have a blessed day!!
     
    Canadian_digger and Tags like this.