• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

keepin an old girl running.

RayfromTX

In my subdivision we just bought an old Fiat Allis 65 motor grader. It is about circa 1976. After 30 hours, the right front wheel was falling off from a failed bearing. We had the spindle rebuilt and located or made the other parts and seals we need and will put it back together in the next few days. In thinking about the machine, which I love by the way, I worry a little about the tandems. I'm new to all this. Should we take the covers off and inspect or service the tandems to try to stave off a repair that finding the parts for might be difficult or just run the machine until the next thing breaks? What should we be looking at to try to avoid trouble? Thanks in advance. I like this site. Lots of good folks here.

The roads have never looked better. I really enjoy operating it. Lots to learn.

Grader4me

I've never had any problems with any of the tandems on the graders that I operated over the years. I would check the fluid level weekly and change the fluid once a year. If it was me I would take the covers off and have a look...and change the fluid..just my 2 cents. Good luck with your grader!

DonBC

Occupation
Retired mechanical engineer.